Division 1A is an elite collegiate rugby competition sanctioned and administered by USA Rugby. The conference-based league features 51 elite men’s college rugby teams competing in seven conferences: Big Ten, California, East, Mid-South, PAC, Red River, West, and two Independent teams. The regular season sees all teams in the conference play one another, with the competitions 12 highest ranked teams qualifying for the post-season. Playoffs consist of three rounds of single elimination matches leading up to the D1A National Championship match.

Previous Championships

Year Champion Score Opponent Date Location
2011 Cal 21 – 14 BYU May 21, 2011 Rio Tinto Stadium (Sandy, UT)
2012 BYU 49 – 42 Arkansas State May 19, 2012 Rio Tinto Stadium (Sandy, UT)
2013 Life 16 – 14 Saint Mary’s May 18, 2013 UNCG Soccer Stadium
2014 Saint Mary’s 21 – 6 Life May 21, 2014 Steuber Rugby Stadium (Stanford)
2015 Saint Mary’s 30 – 24 Life May 9, 2015 Fifth-Third Bank Stadium
2016 Life 24 – 20 Saint Mary’s May 7, 2016 Saint Mary’s Stadium (Moraga, CA)
2017 Saint Mary’s 30 – 24 Life May 6, 2017 Saint Mary’s Stadium (Moraga, CA)


Name Email Title
Kevin Battle kbattle@usarugby.org Commissioner
Rich Cortez rcortez@usarugby.org Collegiate Director
David Jacobson djacobson@usarugby.org Digital Media Administrator
Lucy Zugschwert lzugschwert@usarugby.org Membership Services Manager
James Wilber jwilber@usarugby.org NCS Manager & Competitions
Name Email University
Mike Wazkowski waszkowski@gmail.com Illinois
Sam Enari s.enari89@gmail.com Indiana
Jim Estes iowalions7@gmail.com Iowa
Brandon Sparks brandonsparks73@gmail.com Michigan
Ben Mateialona


Michigan State
Chad Augeson


Ron Bowers bowers@osurugby.com Ohio State
Mark Behrens mbehrens@terrasitedev.com Purdue
Nic Tyson tyson1310@yahoo.com Wisconsin
Name Email University
Charles Zanoli czanoli@calpolyrugby.com Cal Poly
Alex Lichtig alex.lichtig@gmail.com San Diego State
Paul Keeler pkeeler99@gmail.com Santa Clara
Tim O’Brien tobrien@brv-llc.com Saint Mary’s
Tim Lewis timbolewis@hotmail.com UC Santa Barbara
Name Email University
Matt Sherman matthew.sherman@usma.edu Army
Mike Hodgins mhodgins@johnsstudio.com Buffalo
Bruce McLane bruce@mclaneny.com Iona
Gregg Jones greggajones@verizon.net Kutztown
Blake Burdette BBurdette@psu.edu Penn State
Tui Osborne atosborne@sbu.edu St. Bonaventure
Jake Fautley jfautley@wju.edu Wheeling Jesuit
Name Email University
James Wood jwood34@davenport.edu Davenport
Scott Lawrence scott.lawrence1993@gmail.com Life
John Stephenson jstephenson@lindenwood.edu Lindenwood
Name Email University
Mason Hering mason.hering@gmail.com Baylor
Doug Neubauer dneubaue@hotmail.com Oklahoma
Chris Hopps hopps@utrugby.com Texas-Austin
James Lowrey jklowrey@gmail.com Texas A&M
TeShay Flowers hornedfrogrugby@gmail.com TCU
Jason Bramow jason.bramow@ttu.edu Texas Tech
Name Email University
Denny Meredith djmerideth3@gmail.com Air Force
Murray Wallace muzza1367@yahoo.com Colorado
Justin Mort justin-123@hotmail.co.uk Colorado State
Tom Goslau tgoslau@mac.com New Mexico
David Finnoff finnoff@uwyo.edu Wyoming